I’m a sensitive person; I admit it – emotionally, but also physically, although the latter shines through immediately, while the former is somewhat hidden from others. Wine has been an amazing outlet for me in the physical sense. I recently realized, similar to the way the shape of a glass can affect the aromatic side of a wine, that this chemical reaction is actually applicable as an analogy for what an object absorbs and then either changes or immediately converts to emit something that is a product of its environment.

Chemically speaking when it comes to wine, I am extremely sensitive to any presence of fruit flies hovering near or on my glass. If one unfortunate fly lands in the wine and drowns, it actually changes the chemistry of the wine, making it undrinkable for me.

But what if I extended that glass analogy to the bigger picture?

When you work in a very small wine facility, like any such work environment, it has to be expected that elements might alter each other. I’ve read about growers or winemakers intentionally trying to influence their vines or wines by playing certain types of music to them or speaking to them in a particular tone to encourage a desired outcome. Whatever you think of that, I do take a slight page from that book.

I believe that, like people, wines are affected by the way you interact with them.

However, I considered that idea on more of a human level and less of a Masaru Emoto level recently. Last week, I royally messed up all the Brix readings for the Petite Sirah bins. My dyslexia kicked in and I confused the temperature readings for the Brix ones. I recognized my mistake right after I finished taking readings inaccurately on the last bin. I got so mad at myself in that moment of realization that I couldn’t hide it. I felt my self-inflicted anger begin to lash out uncontrollably and hit everyone around me. Or so I thought.

Regardless of whether or not I impacted Ed, Taka or Dave, the environment of a small space is very much like the inside of a wine glass. What you do DOES impact the environment. Whether this is known to you or to the other parties, your emotional outlet does impact a small space; it is simply inevitable. Naturally, you don’t need to blow it up to proportions that don’t even exist, but you do need to be aware that what you do or feel in a small space does impact others.

That day, Ed got very upset with one of us about something in particular; concerned that we weren’t consulting him on his instructions. We rarely see Ed upset and so, I wondered…worried…that perhaps my early morning, vocalized self-lashing impacted Ed’s emotions subconsciously. I’ll never know, to be honest. But what I can do is to be more mindful in those moments when I want to lash out at myself or even others and consider how it might change the “wine glass” of our environment.

